Wardrobe Upgrade: Cardigan

The question I am asked most once people find out that I’m a seamstress is, “you must make a lot of clothes for yourself, right?” Unfortunately, no. I don’t typically make a lot of things for myself (time, money and weight change being my primary reasons). I can count on one hand the amount of pieces I’ve made for myself in the last five years. So while I was going through my collection of fabric recently, I kept coming across full yardages I’d purchased over the past few months, still in the shopping bag, most with an accompanying pattern. All told, I found ten projects that had the fabric, pattern and notions just sitting and waiting for me.

All my projects just waiting to be completed

All my projects just waiting to be completed

I’m a person who is guilty of ‘out of sight, out of mind.’ Really this works out perfectly though – I have ten projects ready to go, a very tired wardrobe that desperately needs some fresh pieces, and a lovely new blog to share the progress with! I figure, if I don’t love wearing garments that I’ve made, then who else would?

The first project I wanted to start on was replacing a black knit cardigan. I’ve had it for years, and now it’s pilled, pitted and looks dreadful. I purchased some rayon/spandex blend that is just luscious. The drape is lovely and so light weight. Now I had to decide if I was just going to duplicate the old one, or choose a different cut. I have another cardigan a friend gave me that I feel has a much more flattering silhouette, so I opted to duplicate that.

I love the drape!!

I love the drape!!

The design is pretty simple: an unfitted bodice front, back and full length sleeves, with and extended rectangle along the waist seam, and continuous collar that starts at the bottom of the center front hem, and follows around to the back of the neck, back down to the other center front hem. A mouthful I know, but you can see it in the photo below. I started with measuring the height and width of the extended rectangle and the collar, and cut my fabric. I used the front and back bodice pieces, as well as the sleeve from McCalls 4769 , matched to the measurements of the original cardigan, and cut those

I measured the width & height for the basic pieces to start.

I measured the width & height for the basic pieces to start.

You might recognize this as the Meatshake Soda Shop dress

You might recognize this as the Meatshake Soda Shop dress

Before turning in the for night, I assembled the bodice and sleeves. Tomorrow, i hope to finish it. Take a look … what do you think?

Note to self: I’ve got to figure out a space to take photos 😕

 

End of Day 1

End of Day 1

Project Music: How Did This Get Made? Podcast: Demolition Man

One thought on “Wardrobe Upgrade: Cardigan

  1. Pingback: Catching up to do | sceneripper

Leave a Reply

