Photo: Kelly Schwarze

Con-envy

As one might expect, I follow a fair amount of cosplayers on various social media. Summer being prime convention season, needless to say my various feeds have been blowing up with photos of everyone’s costumes. My financial situation being what it has been for a few years now, I sadly haven’t been to a convention in as much time. This time of the year I’m always left with a bit of Con-envy. So as I scanned articles on i09 (whoever did Marko from Saga, I love you) and Nerdist to feed my need for cosplay photos, imagine my surprise when I found an article about a geek themed fashion show at San Diego Comic Con! At first I through they were covering the Masquerade – a juried competition of cosplayers. But no! This year the geek girl clothing retailer Her Universe held a runway style fashion show, featuring gowns and outfits inspired by geek culture. POPSUGAR, the women’s interest site, covered it here.

All the pieces were insanely successful. They all conveyed whatever character or subject they were inspired by. But, with all things artistic, I have my favorites. Before getting into my top five looks, there are a few that deserve shout outs: the Death, the 4th Doctor Who and Luna Lovegood. All the looks were so spot on, and especially in the case of the 4th Doctor, were ready to sold as is. Besides, Death is one of my favorite comic characters.

Okay, these are my top  five looks out of the total 34 (in no particular order):

1. Thrace from Battlestar Galactica

Photo: Kelly Schwarze

Photo: Kelly Schwarze

I am in love with this look in spite of having no interest in the show. The tough girl military look is offset by the bustle. If you haven’t looked at the POPSUGAR article yet, please do. They have a photo of the back, which shows the riveted leather(?) panels. This look is downright bad ass. I would LOVE to wear this. And at the risk of sounding a bit too smarmy, this designer also manages to make a design element out of one the laziest costume design decisions ever. I’m talking about the part of the military uniform in Galactica in which they wear a grey tank top, with a black razorback tank top worn backwards on top. Well done sir or ma’am (couldn’t find the designer’s name)!

2. Regina from Once Upon a Time

Photo: Nicole Nguyen

Photo: Nicole Nguyen

The reason for the two photos? Because the model walked out in the winter coat and leggings, then removed the coat and the gorgeous gown was underneath! I am a sucker for transformable garments, and this one blows me away! I would have killed to have seen the reveal in real life. All geeking out aside, I feel that this is such a successful piece because it manages to not only interpret the character, but also the dual worlds of out time and the fantasy realm that are within the show. There were a fair amount of transforming or multiple-look garments in the show (most notable ArceeThe Hobbit wedding dress and Pikachu), but this one blows me away. I can’t say enough about this one.

3. Samus from Metroid

Photo: Nicole Nguyen

Photo: Nicole Nguyen

It is too fitting that a Samus inspired look is in this show. For those of you unfamiliar with Metroid series of video games, when the first one premiered in 1986, everyone assumed that the protagonist was male. And why shouldn’t they – all other video game protagonists were male (unless you could Ms. Pac-Man). For the majority of the game, Samus is in a powersuit. When it is revealed at the end that Samus is a woman, it was such huge moment in video game history. That reveal is still reflected on today.

But back to the dress! The silhouette is amazing. The drape in the skirt says graceful, while the structure of the bodice and peplum are aggressive. This gown is killer. The shoulder accents give it enough of a futuristic look to convey the spacey setting of the game. I’ve gone on at length about my love of structure in garments, and this one is definitely in my wheelhouse.

4. The DeLorean from Back to the Future 

Photo: Nicole Nguyen

Photo: Nicole Nguyen

Photo: Nicole Nguyen

Photo: Nicole Nguyen

The designer managed to take one of the chunkiest cars of the 80s and make it stylish womenswear. And, oh yea, work in elements of one of the best movie trilogies of all time! The jacket is a call back to the one Marty Jr. wears in 2015, but with the silver of the DeLorean. Check out that back, too! The belt and the ‘flame’ stockings put it over the top. This designer won the opportunity to co-design a new line for Hot Topic for this look.

5. The Iron Throne from Game of Thrones

Photo: Kelly Schwarze

Photo: Kelly Schwarze

This already looks like something from a high fashion concept line. The silhouette is stunning, with the corsetted bodice and exaggerated panniers. This is definitely recognizable from the infamous season 1 promotional image featuring Sean Bean. The elongated train plays well into the royalty idea as well. I feel this is the most striking piece.

There is one other piece I feel moved to discuss a bit more at length. A Loki themed dress was one of the featured looks. Since Loki is already a huge favorite among fangirls, that dress in particular blew up in all the social media that I follow (and is actually how I discovered the article in the first place). Here’s what it looks like:

Photo: Kelly Schwarze

Photo: Kelly Schwarze

Photo: Nicole Nguyen

Photo: Nicole Nguyen

Overall, really well constructed and fantastic tailoring. The dress fits the model perfectly and reflects the slinkiness I would expect from the God of Mischief in lady form. I also like the incorporation of the lattice detail that’s been featured on Tom Hiddleston’s costumes. The thing most commented on was the use of two feathers in place of horns. Very clever, I will admit, and it works for the 40s/50s feel of dress. The thing that is most distracting to me is the tulle poof/bustle/train. Because I obviously can’t talk to the designer, I will have to make a few assumptions. Based on the hat and the overall silhouette of the dress, I’m guessing she was going for the fitted skirt with full, gathered overskirt look that was popular in the 1950s, and the tulle is meant to be the overskirt. Honestly, it looks tacked on to me. I wish she would have worked the segmented coat that he wears into it somehow.

To prove I’m not one of those people that just criticizes for the sake of being petty, I’ll do up a quick sketch of what I’m talking about, and include it in the next post. Please let me be clear, I’m not saying the dress is terrible. Let me say again that the tailoring is exquisite, and the overall idea is solid. But when you’re tackling a character who confesses that ‘satisfaction is not in my nature,’ you have to push that envelope.

Hope you enjoyed – I know I did :)

One thought on “Con-envy

  1. Pingback: I’m gonna do a cosplay, you guys! | sceneripper

Leave a Reply

